第3部分–关于COVID-19疫苗的真相

4年2020月XNUMX日

我也希望COVID-19消失,但是您将为我注​​入什么?!

您可能已经看到有关抗COVID-19的疫苗候选物的新闻报道。 尽管许多疫苗具有共同的作用机制,但是很难获得一般针对冠状病毒和呼吸系统疾病的疫苗。 通过本系列文章,我们旨在揭穿某些神话,并减轻对一般疫苗尤其是COVID-19疫苗的担忧。

在本系列的第1部分中,我们检查了各种疫苗的组成及其对免疫系统的影响。 在第2部分中,我们仔细研究了疫苗的设计,生产和测试方式。 在最后一期中,我们将重点介绍COVID-19疫苗的开发。 我们将研究研究人员在设计这些疫苗时面临的挑战,并消除有关其快速开发的一些担忧。 我们还将研究一些可以采取的措施,以确保在疫苗到来之前保持安全。

为什么这么难创建 可行的COVID-19疫苗?

尽管以前已经研究了许多不同的冠状病毒,但是COVID-19是一种相对较新的疾病,我们才刚刚开始发现许多针对COVID-19的特有因素,例如其传播途径,高度传染性,潜伏期以及对COVID-XNUMX的影响。身体。 实际上,在首次发现该疾病后将近一年,我们仍在学习这种疾病。

冠状病毒通常影响呼吸道,因此很难诱导免疫反应。 人体对呼吸道细胞的治疗不同于内部细胞。 实际上,它们被当作皮肤细胞对待,因为尽管它们位于您体内,但是当您呼吸时,它们仍会暴露在外界空气中,因为它们会进入肺部。 这种空气会带来许多异物,因此人体必须对这些异物作出反应,以保护自身免受入侵和破坏。 

制作COVID-19疫苗的挑战是要创造一种能够激发足够强力以实现免疫力的免疫反应,但又不会太严重以至于导致过度免疫反应,从而对人体产生不利影响。

征服COVID-19:寻找用于COVID-19的疫苗是一项挑战。
征服COVID-19:寻找用于COVID-19的疫苗是一项挑战。

候选COVID-19疫苗如何如此迅速地到达?

许多人担心在全球范围内测试,设计,生产,试用并宣布可以投入使用的100多种候选COVID-19疫苗的速度如何。 但是,必须指出的是,开发这些疫苗的科学家们还没有完全从头开始。 许多是建立在对其他冠状病毒(例如SARS和最近的MERS造成严重破坏)的现有冠状病毒的现有研究工作的基础上的。 他们还采用了更安全,使用更广泛的疫苗方法,例如从病毒表面选择蛋白质作为抗原。 

怎么样 免疫系统知道要打什么?

如本系列第1部分中详细描述的,疫苗包含抗原(形成疫苗“活性成分”的病原体小颗粒)。 它们以各种形式发生(例如,病原体变弱,病原体的一部分,病原体产生的毒素),您的免疫系统会使用它们来识别疫苗旨在对抗的病原体。 

您的免疫系统(特别是您的B淋巴细胞/细胞)通过将这种抗原的印记添加到其“记忆库”(通过创建对该抗原具有特异性的记忆B细胞)来对疫苗反应。 下次遇到相同的病原体时,您的免疫系统将已准备好所需的抗体和其他免疫过程,并且可以在感染发生之前立即开始抵抗细菌或病毒。

什么应该 在发布COVID-19疫苗之前我们会做什么?

您可以采取许多措施来保护自己免受COVID-19和许多其他疾病的侵害,包括通过定期用肥皂和水洗手来养成良好的手部卫生习惯。
您可以采取许多措施来保护自己免受COVID-19和许多其他疾病的侵害,包括通过定期用肥皂和水洗手来养成良好的手部卫生习惯。

尽管出现了一些强大的候选COVID-19疫苗,但在疫苗推出之前,务必采取感染控制措施。 良好的个人卫生,社交距离,无法社交的时候要戴口罩,定期清洁高接触表面,最重要的是,通过定期用肥皂和水洗手来保持良好的手部卫生是很容易采取的重要措施实行。

为了确保您和家人的安全,以下是一些可遵循的准则:

  • 定期用温水用肥皂洗手。 摩擦整个手和手腕至少20秒钟。 如果这不是一种选择,请使用洗手液(最好使用乙醇并有效浓度)。
  • 避免与其他人聚在一起,并与他人保持至少1.5 m的距离,以进行社交疏导。 
  • 戴上口罩并确保正确佩戴。 它应该覆盖您的鼻子和嘴巴,顶部,底部或侧面都应无间隙。 避免触摸面罩,如果需要取下面罩,请确保双手清洁,并用松紧带或皮带绑住面罩。 将用过的口罩放入塑料袋中进行清洗,并在使用后将一次性口罩直接放入垃圾箱。
  • 避免生病时外出。 即使您只是闻鼻涕或有点咳嗽,也请避免前往公共场所或工作场所。 
  • 注意那些被归类为弱势群体的人。 高风险人群,例如很小的年轻人,老年人或有医疗状况的人群,可能更容易感染COVID-19,并且如果染上这种疾病,则有遭受更严重影响甚至死亡的风险。 当您生病或与确诊为COVID-19的人接触时,请避免与此类人接触。

在本系列的第1部分和第2部分中找到有关疫苗的更多信息

如果您错过了本系列的前两个部分,我们将在这里讨论疫苗的成分,作用机理以及疫苗的设计和生产,现在就开始看看。 

有疑问吗?

如果您对COVID-19,病原体或疫苗有任何疑问,或者想要关于安全处理有害物质的建议,请 立即联系Chemwatch团队。 我们友好而经验丰富的员工将利用多年的经验,就如何保持安全并遵守健康与安全法规提供最新的行业建议。

来源: 

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/about-immunisation/are-vaccines-safe

https://www.webmd.com/children/vaccines/immunizations-vaccines-power-of-preparation#1

https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types

https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/what-is-in-vaccines-fact-sheet

https://www.health.gov.au/sites/default/files/what-is-in-vaccines_0.pdf

https://bioethicsobservatory.org/2020/06/is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses/17848/

http://www.observatoriobioetica.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses1.pdf

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/childhood-immunisation-coverage

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/herd-immunity-and-coronavirus/art-20486808

https://www.omicsonline.org/aluminum-and-alzheimers-disease-an-update-2161-0460-1000118.php?aid=16579

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3056430/

https://vaccine-safety-training.org/toxoid-vaccines.html#:~:text=Toxoid%20vaccines%20Toxoid%20vaccineA%20vaccine,(e.g.%20tetanus%20or%20diphtheria).

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/basics/test-approve.html#:~:text=Clinical%20development%20is%20a%20three,the%20new%20vaccine%20is%20intended.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X16309173

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2020-04-17/coronavirus-vaccine-ian-frazer/12146616

https://www1.racgp.org.au/newsgp/clinical/cautiously-optimistic-australian-coronavirus-vacci

https://vaers.hhs.gov/

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/health-professionals/reporting-and-managing-adverse-vaccination-events

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/getting-vaccinated/after-your-visit

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/thimerosal-and-vaccines

https://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center/vaccines-and-other-conditions/vaccines-autism

Part 3 – The truth about COVID-19 vaccines

November 4, 2020

I want COVID-19 to go away too, but you’re going to be injecting me with what?!

You may have seen news articles regarding a number of vaccine candidates that have emerged in the fight against COVID-19. While many share common mechanisms of action, it is very difficult to derive vaccines against coronaviruses and respiratory diseases in general. Through this series, we aimed to debunk some of the myths and alleviate some concerns regarding vaccines in general and the COVID-19 vaccine in particular.

In part 1 of this series, we examined the composition of various vaccines and their effects on the immune system. In part 2, we took a closer look at how vaccines are designed, produced and tested. In this final instalment, we focus on the development of COVID-19 vaccines. We’ll look at the challenges faced by researchers in designing these vaccines and put to rest some of the concerns regarding their rapid development. We’ll also take a look at some measures we can put in place to stay safe until the vaccine arrives.

Why is it so hard to create a viable COVID-19 vaccine?

Although many different coronaviruses have previously been studied, COVID-19 is a relatively new disease and we have only just begun to discover many factors specific to COVID-19, such as its route of transmission, highly infectious nature, incubation periods and effects on the body. We are, in fact, still learning about this disease, nearly a year after it was first identified.

Coronaviruses commonly affect the respiratory tract, and this makes it difficult induce an immune response. The body treats in cells in the respiratory tract differently from internal cells. In fact, they are treated more like skin cells since, although they are inside your body, they are nonetheless exposed to external air as it enters the lungs when you breathe. This air brings with it many foreign particles, and the body must respond to these to protect itself from invasion and damage. 

The challenge in creating a COVID-19 vaccine is to create a vaccine that will provoke an immune response that is sufficiently strong to achieve immunity, but not so severe that it leads to an overblown immune response, which may have detrimental effects on the body.

Conquering COVID-19: Finding a vaccine for COVID-19 is challenging.
Conquering COVID-19: Finding a vaccine for COVID-19 is challenging.

How did the candidate COVID-19 vaccines arrive so quickly?

Many people are concerned about how rapidly the 100+ candidate COVID-19 vaccines that are being tested globally have been designed, produced, trialled and declared ready for administration. However, it’s important to note that the scientists developing these vaccines have not started completely from scratch. Many are building on existing research work completed for other coronaviruses such as SARS, which wreaked havoc over a decade ago, and the more recent MERS. They have also employed safer and more widely administered vaccine methods such as selecting proteins from the surface of the virus to act as the antigens. 

How does the immune system know what to fight?

As described in detail in part 1 of this series, vaccines contain antigens (small particles of the pathogen that form the ‘active ingredient’ of the vaccine). These occur in various forms (e.g. weakened pathogen, part of the pathogen, toxin from the pathogen) and your immune system uses these to identify the pathogen that the vaccine is designed to combat. 

Your immune system (specifically your B lymphocytes/cells) responds to the vaccination by adding an imprint of this antigen to its ‘memory bank’ (by creating memory B-cells that are specific to the antigen). The next time you encounter the same pathogen, your immune system will have the required antibodies and other immune process/es ready, and it can immediately begin fighting the bacteria or virus before the infection has time to develop.

What should we do until a COVID-19 vaccine is released?

There are many things that you can do to protect yourself against COVID-19 and many other diseases including practising good hand hygiene by routinely washing your hands with soap and water.
There are many things that you can do to protect yourself against COVID-19 and many other diseases including practising good hand hygiene by routinely washing your hands with soap and water.

Although some strong COVID-19 vaccine candidates have emerged, it’s important to practise infection control measures until a vaccine is rolled out. Good personal hygiene, social distancing, wearing a mask when you can’t social distance, regularly cleaning high-touch surfaces, and, most importantly, practising good hand hygiene by routinely washing your hands with soap and water are important measures that are easy to implement.

Here are a more few guidelines to follow to ensure you and your family stay safe:

  • Regularly wash your hands with soap with warm water. Rub the entirety of the hands and wrists for at least 20 seconds. If this is not an option, use a hand sanitiser (preferably ethanol-based and at an effective concentration).
  • Avoid gathering in large groups and practice social distancing by staying at least 1.5 m away from others. 
  • Wear a mask and ensure that you are wearing it correctly. It should cover both your nose and mouth with no gaps at the top, bottom or sides. Avoid touching your mask and, if you need to remove your mask, make sure your hands are clean and handle the mask by the elastic or straps. Place used masks into a plastic bag for washing and deposit single-use masks directly into the garbage bin after use.
  • Avoid going out when sick. Even if you just have the sniffles or a bit of a cough, avoid heading into public places or your workplace. 
  • Be mindful of those classed as vulnerable. High-risk populations such as the very young, the elderly or those with medical conditions may be more susceptible to COVID-19 and are at risk of more severe effects and even death should they contract the disease. Avoid contact with such people when you have been sick or if you have been in contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19.

Find out more about vaccines in parts 1 and 2 of this series

If you missed the first two parts of this series, where we discuss the components, mechanisms of action of vaccines, and the design and production of vaccines, head over and take a look at them now. 

Got questions?

If you have any questions about COVID-19, pathogens, or vaccines, or would like advice on safely handling hazardous substances, please contact the Chemwatch team today. Our friendly and experienced staff draws on years of experience to offer the latest industry advice on how to stay safe and comply with Health and Safety regulations.

Sources: 

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/about-immunisation/are-vaccines-safe

https://www.webmd.com/children/vaccines/immunizations-vaccines-power-of-preparation#1

https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types

https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/what-is-in-vaccines-fact-sheet

https://www.health.gov.au/sites/default/files/what-is-in-vaccines_0.pdf

https://bioethicsobservatory.org/2020/06/is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses/17848/

http://www.observatoriobioetica.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses1.pdf

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/childhood-immunisation-coverage

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/herd-immunity-and-coronavirus/art-20486808

https://www.omicsonline.org/aluminum-and-alzheimers-disease-an-update-2161-0460-1000118.php?aid=16579

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3056430/

https://vaccine-safety-training.org/toxoid-vaccines.html#:~:text=Toxoid%20vaccines%20Toxoid%20vaccineA%20vaccine,(e.g.%20tetanus%20or%20diphtheria).

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/basics/test-approve.html#:~:text=Clinical%20development%20is%20a%20three,the%20new%20vaccine%20is%20intended.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X16309173

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2020-04-17/coronavirus-vaccine-ian-frazer/12146616

https://www1.racgp.org.au/newsgp/clinical/cautiously-optimistic-australian-coronavirus-vacci

https://vaers.hhs.gov/

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/health-professionals/reporting-and-managing-adverse-vaccination-events

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/getting-vaccinated/after-your-visit

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/thimerosal-and-vaccines

https://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center/vaccines-and-other-conditions/vaccines-autism