第2部分–关于疫苗生产的真相

28年2020月XNUMX日

我也希望COVID-19消失,但是您将为我注​​入什么?!

如果要求您用几句话来形容2020,那么“ COVID-19”和“疫苗”可能会在其中。 随着有关该病毒信息的传播,对可能的针对该疫苗的疫苗的安全性和有效性也引起关注,尤其是在这些潜在疫苗的设计,制造和测试速度飞速的情况下。 

在本系列的第1部分中,我们检查了各种疫苗的组成及其对免疫系统的影响。 在这里,我们将仔细研究疫苗的设计,生产和测试方式。

生产疫苗

疫苗的生产方式多种多样,具体取决于针对其而设计的病原体以及疫苗所采用的最终形式。 疫苗的生产过程很复杂,涉及从初始分析和设计到临床开发和测试,再到批量生产,管理和实现牛群免疫的许多不同步骤。

科学家们在努力开发疫苗,必须遵循严格的程序。 因此,通常需要很多年才能生产出疫苗并将其管理给更广泛的社区。
科学家们在努力开发疫苗,必须遵循严格的程序。 因此,通常需要很多年才能生产出疫苗并将其管理给更广泛的社区。

设计疫苗

设计过程始于在分子和宏观层面对病原体进行全面分析。 它是哪种类型的微生物(例如病毒或细菌)? 它针对身体的哪个部位(例如呼吸系统或神经系统)? 它如何影响人体并与人体相互作用? 其作用机理是什么? 它是否在体内处于休眠状态? 它会分泌毒素,还是通过劫持人体细胞来发挥作用? 它的传染性如何? 最常见的传播途径是什么? 

对病原体如何运作,如何传播以及如何行为的深入了解对于开发有效的疫苗至关重要。 最重要的是,它指导适当抗原的选择。 我们在本系列的第1部分中仔细研究了抗原,我们在其中解释了抗原是疫苗中的“活性成分”,并由衍生自旨在应对疫苗的病原体的小颗粒组成。

所选的任何抗原都必须随时间稳定,具有足够的免疫原性,引起保护性免疫反应并适合商业化和大规模生产。

一旦分析和设计阶段完成,候选疫苗必须通过一系列临床试验,在其中严格测试其免疫原性,安全性和功效。 疫苗开发和生产的最后阶段包括监管审批,生产以及持续的质量控制和监控。 

v的临床发展疫苗

在设计,生产并成功在细胞上(体外)和在动物试验(体内)中测试了疫苗之后,它进入了临床开发阶段。 这通常涉及三个阶段的试验过程,通常包括第四阶段,以涵盖质量控制和法规批准。 

临床试验阶段

第一阶段

在临床试验的第一阶段,少数人会收到试验疫苗。 他们通常是健康的接受者,没有已知的合并症(与先前存在的疾病或状况相矛盾)。

二期

在此阶段,将疫苗接种给更多人群,这些人群通常具有与新疫苗所针对的人群相似的特定特征(例如年龄和身体健康)。

第三期

在此阶段,将对疫苗的功效和安全性进行测试,并将疫苗接种给更大范围的参与者(通常是数千人)。

第四阶段

该阶段不是严格的临床试验过程的一部分,而是在疫苗获得批准,许可和例行管理之后,进行正式,持续的研究和监控。

疫苗生产有多道德?

关于疫苗生产的关注引起了最大的争议之一,就是使用流产胎儿的细胞。 确实有些疫苗是通过这种方式生产的。 但是,请务必注意,这不是通过反复堕胎来完成的。 相反,所使用的细胞是数十年前从手术流产的胎儿中获得的,随后在实验室中繁殖。 这些细胞已成为“细胞系”,已在全球范围内多次复制。 他们使研究人员和制药公司能够开发和生产针对许多致命疾病的疫苗。 用于此目的的一些最著名的细胞系是WI-38和MRC-5,它们均起源于1960年代。

动物和人体试验也是道德困境的领域。 正如我们前面提到的,疫苗必须通过一系列动物和人体试验,以确保安全使用。 这些试验的每个步骤都必须经过独立的伦理委员会的批准,然后才能进行,并采取了许多措施,以尽可能降低对任何动物或人类参与者的伤害和风险。

反应和疫苗伤害

尽管相对罕见,但社区中的某些成员可能会对疫苗产生不良反应。 这些可能会立即发生,如过敏反应一样,也可能采取长期病状,例如对疫苗的不适当免疫反应,从而导致自身免疫病,例如格林-巴利综合症。 

尽管一项研究声称疫苗会导致自闭症,但由于偏倚和设计不当,该研究被抹黑,因为负责的医生仅将一小部分自闭症儿童作为研究对象。 该文件和韦克菲尔德博士的证书随后被撤销。 此后进行了许多研究,但尚未发现疫苗与自闭症诊断之间的联系。

对疫苗的轻度反应很普遍,这表明您的免疫系统正在起作用。 严重的反应很少见,一旦发生,通常会记录在专业数据库中,以作为建议时间表的一部分,持续监控所接种疫苗的安全性。
对疫苗的轻度反应很普遍,这表明您的免疫系统正在起作用。 严重的反应很少见,一旦发生,通常会记录在专业数据库中,以作为建议时间表的一部分,持续监控所接种疫苗的安全性。

典型的疫苗反应可能包括注射部位发红,易怒,食欲不振,轻度发烧和疲劳。 这些迹象表明您的身体对疫苗有适当的反应。 对特定疫苗也有其他反应发生。 严重反应应报告给您的医生或接种疫苗的医疗专业人员。 许多国家/地区都有专门的数据库来跟踪有关疫苗的反应投诉。 如果发现问题,可以对该批次进行调查,并可以查看疫苗指南或剂量率。

如果您担心您或您的孩子可能会对预定疫苗产生不良反应,请与您的医生或医疗专业人员进行讨论。 接种疫苗后在医疗机构停留10-15分钟,以确保在极少数情况下出现过敏反应时能提供帮助。 

如果发生不良反应,您的医生或医学专家将讨论今后的最佳行动方案,尤其是如果您或您的孩子准备接受激发该反应的疫苗的加强注射。 

在某些情况下,由于其他医学状况,个体可能会出现严重的反应或合并症,因此无法施用或重复接种疫苗。 牛群免疫对保护无法接种疫苗的个体至关重要。

在本系列的第1部分和第3部分中找到有关疫苗的更多信息

如果您错过了本系列的第一部分,我们将在这里讨论疫苗的成分和作用机理,现在就开始看看。 在第3部分中,我们将专门研究设计COVID-19疫苗的挑战。 

有疑问吗?

如果您对COVID-19,病原体或疫苗有任何疑问,或者想要关于安全处理有害物质的建议,请 立即联系Chemwatch团队。 我们友好而经验丰富的员工将利用多年的经验,就如何保持安全并遵守健康与安全法规提供最新的行业建议。

来源: 

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/about-immunisation/are-vaccines-safe

https://www.webmd.com/children/vaccines/immunizations-vaccines-power-of-preparation#1

https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types

https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/what-is-in-vaccines-fact-sheet

https://www.health.gov.au/sites/default/files/what-is-in-vaccines_0.pdf

https://bioethicsobservatory.org/2020/06/is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses/17848/

http://www.observatoriobioetica.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses1.pdf

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/childhood-immunisation-coverage

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/herd-immunity-and-coronavirus/art-20486808

https://www.omicsonline.org/aluminum-and-alzheimers-disease-an-update-2161-0460-1000118.php?aid=16579

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3056430/

https://vaccine-safety-training.org/toxoid-vaccines.html#:~:text=Toxoid%20vaccines%20Toxoid%20vaccineA%20vaccine,(e.g.%20tetanus%20or%20diphtheria).

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/basics/test-approve.html#:~:text=Clinical%20development%20is%20a%20three,the%20new%20vaccine%20is%20intended.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X16309173

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2020-04-17/coronavirus-vaccine-ian-frazer/12146616

https://www1.racgp.org.au/newsgp/clinical/cautiously-optimistic-australian-coronavirus-vacci

https://vaers.hhs.gov/

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/health-professionals/reporting-and-managing-adverse-vaccination-events

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/getting-vaccinated/after-your-visit

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/thimerosal-and-vaccines

https://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center/vaccines-and-other-conditions/vaccines-autism

Part 2 – The truth about vaccine production

October 28, 2020

I want COVID-19 to go away too, but you’re going to be injecting me with what?!

If you were asked to describe 2020 in just a few words, ‘COVID-19’ and ‘vaccine’ would probably be among them. As information about the virus has been circulating, so have concerns regarding the safety and efficacy of possible vaccines against it—particularly over the rapid rate at which these potential vaccines appear to have been designed, created and tested. 

In part 1 of this series, we examined the composition of various vaccines and their effects on the immune system. Here we’ll take a closer look at how vaccines are designed, produced and tested.

Producing a vaccine

Vaccines are produced in a variety of ways depending on the pathogen that they are designed to work against and the final form the vaccine will take. The vaccine production process is complex, involving many different steps from initial analysis and design, through clinical development and testing, and on to mass production, administration and the achievement of herd immunity.

Scientists work hard to develop vaccines and must follow a rigorous process. As such, it often takes many years for a vaccine to be created and administered to the wider community.
Scientists work hard to develop vaccines and must follow a rigorous process. As such, it often takes many years for a vaccine to be created and administered to the wider community.

Designing a vaccine

The design process begins with a thorough analysis of the pathogen at both the molecular and macroscopic levels. What type of microorganism is it (e.g. a virus or bacteria)? What parts of the body does it target (e.g. the respiratory system or nervous system)? How does it affect and interact with the human body? What are its mechanisms of action? Does it lay dormant in the body? Does it secrete a toxin, or does it act by hijacking the body’s cells? How infectious is it? What are the most common routes of transmission? 

This intimate knowledge of how the pathogen operates, how it’s transmitted, and how it behaves is essential to developing an effective vaccine. Most importantly, it guides the selection of an appropriate antigen. We took a close look at antigens in part 1 of this series, where we explained that antigens are the ‘active ingredients’ in vaccines and consist of small particles derived from the pathogen that the vaccine is designed to work against.

Any antigen that is selected must be stable over time, be sufficiently immunogenic, invoke a protective immune response and be suitable for commercial and mass production.

Once analysis and design stage is complete, the candidate vaccine must pass through a series of clinical trials in which it is rigorously tested for immunogenicity, safety and efficacy. The final stages of vaccine development and production include regulatory approval, manufacturing and ongoing quality control and monitoring. 

The clinical development of vaccines

After the vaccine has been designed, produced, and successfully tested on cells (in-vitro), and in animal trials (in-vivo), it proceeds to the clinical development stage. This typically involves a three-phase trial process, often with a fourth phase to cover quality control and regulatory approval. 

Clinical trial phases

Phase I

During the first phase of clinical trials, small groups of people receive the trial vaccine. They are usually healthy recipients with no known comorbidities (conflicting pre-existing illnesses or conditions).

Phase II

In this phase, the vaccine is administered to a larger group of people, often with specific characteristics (such as age and physical health) similar to those for whom the new vaccine is intended.

Phase III

At this stage, the vaccine is tested for efficacy and safety and will be administered to a much larger group of participants (typically thousands of people).

Phase IV

Not strictly part of the clinical trial process, this phase involves the formal, ongoing studies and monitoring after the vaccine has been approved, licensed and routinely administered to the community.

How ethical is vaccine production?

Concerns have been raised regarding the manufacture of vaccines with one of the biggest controversies being the use of cells from aborted foetuses. It is true that some vaccines are produced this way. However, it’s important to note that this is not done by repeated abortions. Rather, the cells used were sourced many decades ago from surgically aborted foetuses and have subsequently propagated in laboratories. These cells have become ‘cell lines’ that have been replicated globally many times over. They have allowed researchers and pharma companies to develop and manufacture vaccines against many deadly diseases. Some of the most notable cell lines used for this purpose are WI-38 and MRC-5, both originating from the 1960s.

Animal and human testing are also areas of ethical dilemma. As we mentioned earlier, vaccines must pass through a series of animal and human trials to ensure they are safe to administer. Each of the steps of these trials must be approved by an independent ethics committee before it can proceed, and many measures are put in place to minimise the harm and risks to any animal or human participants wherever possible.

Reactions and vaccine injury

Although relatively rare, some members of the community may have adverse reactions to vaccines. These may occur immediately, as is the case with anaphylaxis, or they could take the form of longer-term conditions such as inappropriate immune responses to the vaccine, resulting in autoimmune conditions such as Guillain-Barre syndrome. 

Although one study purported that vaccines caused autism, the study was discredited on the basis of bias and poor design as the doctor responsible used a only small sample group of autistic children as study subjects. The paper and Dr Wakefield’s credentials were subsequently revoked. Many studies have since been conducted, and no links have been found between vaccines and diagnoses of autism.

Mild reactions to vaccinations are common and indicate that your immune system is working. Severe reactions are rare and, when they occur, are often recorded in specialist databases for ongoing monitoring of the safety of vaccines administered as part of the recommended schedule.
Mild reactions to vaccinations are common and indicate that your immune system is working. Severe reactions are rare and, when they occur, are often recorded in specialist databases for ongoing monitoring of the safety of vaccines administered as part of the recommended schedule.

A typical vaccine reaction may include redness at the site of injection, irritability, loss of appetite, mild fever and fatigue. These are signs that your body is reacting appropriately to the vaccine. There are also other responses that occur in response to particular vaccines. Severe reactions should be reported to your doctor or the medical professional who administered the vaccine. Many countries have specialist databases to track reaction complaints regarding vaccines. If a problem is found, the batch may be investigated, and vaccine guidelines or dosage rates may be reviewed.

If you have any concerns regarding adverse reactions that you or your child may have to a scheduled vaccine, discuss these with your doctor or medical professional. Remain at the medical facility for 10–15 minutes after receiving a vaccine to ensure that there is help at hand in the rare case of an anaphylactic reaction. 

If an adverse reaction occurs, your doctor or medical professional will discuss the best course of action going forward, particularly if you or your child were set to receive booster shots for the vaccine that provoked the reaction. 

In certain cases where individuals are likely to experience severe reactions or co-morbidities due to other medical conditions, vaccines cannot be administered or repeated. Herd immunity plays a vital in protecting individuals who cannot be vaccinated.

Find out more about vaccines in parts 1 and 3 of this series

If you missed the first part of this series, where we discuss the components and mechanisms of action of vaccines, head over and take a look at it now. In part 3, we will look specifically at the challenges of designing a COVID-19 vaccine. 

Got questions?

If you have any questions about COVID-19, pathogens or vaccines, or would like advice on safely handling hazardous substances, please contact the Chemwatch team today. Our friendly and experienced staff draws on years of experience to offer the latest industry advice on how to stay safe and comply with Health and Safety regulations.

Sources: 

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/about-immunisation/are-vaccines-safe

https://www.webmd.com/children/vaccines/immunizations-vaccines-power-of-preparation#1

https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types

https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/what-is-in-vaccines-fact-sheet

https://www.health.gov.au/sites/default/files/what-is-in-vaccines_0.pdf

https://bioethicsobservatory.org/2020/06/is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses/17848/

http://www.observatoriobioetica.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Is-it-true-that-there-are-vaccines-produced-using-aborted-foetuses1.pdf

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/childhood-immunisation-coverage

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/herd-immunity-and-coronavirus/art-20486808

https://www.omicsonline.org/aluminum-and-alzheimers-disease-an-update-2161-0460-1000118.php?aid=16579

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3056430/

https://vaccine-safety-training.org/toxoid-vaccines.html#:~:text=Toxoid%20vaccines%20Toxoid%20vaccineA%20vaccine,(e.g.%20tetanus%20or%20diphtheria).

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/basics/test-approve.html#:~:text=Clinical%20development%20is%20a%20three,the%20new%20vaccine%20is%20intended.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X16309173

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2020-04-17/coronavirus-vaccine-ian-frazer/12146616

https://www1.racgp.org.au/newsgp/clinical/cautiously-optimistic-australian-coronavirus-vacci

https://vaers.hhs.gov/

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/health-professionals/reporting-and-managing-adverse-vaccination-events

https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/immunisation/getting-vaccinated/after-your-visit

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/thimerosal-and-vaccines

https://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center/vaccines-and-other-conditions/vaccines-autism